History of Cryptocurrencies

History of Cryptocurrencies

After Bitcoin cryptocurrencies continued to grow and develop in many different ways. Below is a list of the most notable and innovative cryptocurrencies in chronological order by creation that have remained active. 

Creation year/Cryptocurrency/Ticker/Founder/Purpose and design

Bitcoin BTC creator Satoshi Nakamoto: The first and most widely used decentralized ledger currency, remains the one with the highest market capitalization.

Litecoin LTC Founder Charlie Lee: One of the first cryptocurrencies to use scrypt as a hashing algorithm.

Namecoin NMC Founder Vincent Durham: Also acts as an alternative, decentralized DNS.

Peercoin PPC Founder Sunny King: The first cryptocurrency to use both PoW and PoS functions.

Dogecoin DOGE Founders Jackson Palmer & Billy Markus Based on the Doge internet meme.

Gridcoin GRC Founder Rob Hälford: Linked to citizen science through the Berkeley Open Infrastructure for Network Computing.

Primecoin Founder Sunny King: Uses the finding of prime chains composed of Cunningham chains and bi-twin chains for proof-of-work.

Ripple XRP Founder Chris Larsen & Jed McCaleb: Designed for peer to peer debt transfer. Not based on bitcoin.

Nxt NXT Founder BCNext: Specifically designed as a flexible platform to build applications and financial services around its protocol.

Auroracoin AUR Founder Baldur Odinsson: Created as an alternative currency for Iceland, intended to replace the Icelandic króna.

Dash DASH Founders Evan Duffield & Kyle Hagan: A bitcoin-based currency featuring instant transactions, decentralized governance and budgeting, and private transactions.

NEO NEO Founders Da Hongfei & Erik Zhang: China based cryptocurrency, formerly ANT Shares and ANT Coins. The names were changed in 2017 to NEO and GAS.

MazaCoin MZC Founders BTC Oyate Initiative: The underlying software is derived from that of another cryptocurrency, ZetaCoin.

Monero XMR Founders Monero Core Team: Privacy-centric coin based on the CryptoNote protocol with improvements for scalability and decentralization.

Titcoin TIT Founders Edward Mansfield & Richard Allen: The first cryptocurrency to be nominated for a major adult industry award.
Verge XVG Founder Sunerok: Features anonymous transactions using Tor.

Stellar XLM Founder Jed McCaleb: Open-source, decentralized global financial network.

Vertcoin VTC Founder David Muller: Aims to be ASIC resistant.

Ethereum ETH Founder Vitalik Buterin: Supports Turing-complete smart contracts.

Ethereum Classic ETC Created by ETH fork: An alternative version of Ethereum whose blockchain does not include the DAO hard fork. Supports Turing-complete smart contracts.

Nano Nano Founder Colin LeMahieu: Decentralized, feeless, open-source, peer-to-peer cryptocurrency. First to use a Block Lattice structure.

Tether USDT Founder Jan Ludovicus van der Velde: Tether claims to be backed by USD at a 1 to 1 ratio. The company has been unable to produce promised audits.

Firo FIRO Founder Poramin Insom: The first financial system employing Zero-knowledge proof to protect users’ privacy It conducted the world’s first large-scale blockchain election for Thailand Democrat Party in 2018.

Zcash ZEC Founder Zooko Wilcox: The first open, permissionless financial system employing zero-knowledge security.

Bitcoin Cash BCH Created by Bitcoin fork. Hard fork from bitcoin, increased maximum block size from 1MB to 8MB (as of 2018, 32MB).

Bitcoin Gold BTG Created by a Bitcoin fork: Open source, decentralized digital currency without a central bank or intermediary that can be sent from user to user on the peer-to-peer Bitcoin Gold network

EOS.IO EOS Founder Dan Larimer: Feeless Smart contract platform for decentralized applications and decentralized autonomous corporations with a block time of 500 ms.

Cardano ADA Founder Charles Hoskinson: A proof-of-stake blockchain platform: developed through evidence-based methods and peer-reviewed research.

TRON TRX Founder Justin Sun: A blockchain-based operating system on which one can create decentralized applications, and share media content.

Algorand ALGO Founder Silvio Micali: Uses a verifiable random function to randomly select groups of users to certify blocks.

Shiba Inu SHIB Founder Ryoshi: Token ecosystem supports projects such as an NFT art incubator and the development of a decentralized exchange called Shibaswap.

DeSo DESO Founder Nader al-Naji: Also a social media platform, resembling Twitter. Known as BitClout until September 2021.

SafeMoon SAFEMOON Founder SafeMoon LLC: The token charges a 10% fee on transactions, with 5% redistributed (or reflected) to token holders and 5% directed to wallets in a different currency, Binance Coin.

Internet Computer ICP Founder Dominic Williams: a utility token that allows users to participate in and govern the Internet Computer blockchain network. The network aims to help developers create websites, enterprise IT systems, internet services, and DeFi applications.[1]

Top 10 largest cryptos over the years:

History of Cryptocurrencies